DJ Moves – Rare and Remixed



Black Buffalo Records presents DJ Moves Remixes EP. The cassette release features signature Moves remix sounds with rhymes from Aquakulture feat. Mikey Factz, Halifax’s own Tachichi, Calgary’s finest DJ Cosm feat. hip hop legends Sadat X, El da Sensei and Prince Po, Sargeant and Comrade feat. Touch as well as a new Governor Bolts track. B-side instrumentals round out the 10-track opus.

The album’s debut track, 6547, is a remix of 654 from Aquakulture’s 2020 release Legacy with a new verse from New York emcee Mikey Factz. Moves finds a way to capture the live record feel and ambience from Calgary’s National Music Centre and match it with his boom bap prowess capturing the feel of the original and swapping the sax from original recording with the perfect flute sample.

Dead Fresh, the initial release from Tachichi’s forthcoming EP Gremmy Sip, gets a compression-driven beat remix with a dragging, synth-ed out sample that’s equally as menacing as the original. The remix of Soul Queen, from Sargeant and Comrade’s debut Magic Radio album, soars. Moves replaces the soul and funk bongo and horn styling of the original with a standout rock piano and reverb-draped drum intro and arpeggiated strings.

The remix of Rules from DJ Cosm’s Natural Within replaces the original bass-line-driven production with Moves’ signature piano-laden boom bap simplicity. Sherry leads with a Serge Gainsborough-esque piano and guitar loop intro before the pounding, open drum sample comes to set the stage for Paul the Apostle’s gruff delivery.

The album release is limited to 20 orange cassettes


Track listing:

A Side

6574 – Aquakulture feat. Mikey Factz
Dead Fresh – Tachichi
Rules – DJ Cosm feat. Sadat X, El da Sensei & Prince Po (Scratches by DJ Cosm)
Sherry – Governor Bolts
Soul Queen – Sargeant & Comrade feat. Touch

B Side


Additional information


Cassette, Digital


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “DJ Moves – Rare and Remixed”

You may also like…